10times
26 May 2021 • 

Webinar: Identifying Important Areas for Conservation: A Gap Analysis of US Marine Biodiversity Protection and Knowledge

AboutSpeakersExhibitorsReviewsPhotos

Official Links

Estimated Turnout

upto 100
Delegates

Editions

May 2021

Frequency

Newly Listed
Claim event to edit details

Date/Time: Wednesday, May 26, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC Presented by: Emmett Duffy of the Smithsonian[. Description: The Exclusive Economic .. Read more Zone of the United States spans 24 ecoregions across three oceans and habitats ranging from oceanic coral reefs to glacial bays to deep-sea abyssal plains and vent ecosystems. This expansive territory hosts a similarly great diversity of marine life. Yet there has never been a systematic inventory of US living marine resources. Such information is an essential scientific foundation as the US and other nations embark on an expanded initiative to protect marine life and habitats. The Marine Biodiversity Dialogues project, sponsored by the National Marine Sanctuaries Foundation and Lenfest Ocean Program, is conducting an initial, time-bound gap analysis of existing data to identify: 1) limits to existing knowledge of marine biodiversity and its distribution across the expansive US EEZ, and 2) key regions whose biodiversity is not well represented in existing marine protected areas (MPAs). This webinar will summarize findings of this gap analysis and discuss how the emerging science foundation can inform strategic prioritization for protection of marine habitats and regions in the US EEZ.

  • Share your Experience
  • Organizer
LogoRequest a Booth

SEVENSEAS Media

USA15 Total Events / 5 Upcoming Events

More Events From The Organizer