10times
22 Jun 2021 • 

Webinar: The PescaData app: Mobilizing knowledge and creating a more just digital economy for small-scale fishers

AboutSpeakersExhibitorsReviewsPhotos

Official Links

Estimated Turnout

100 - 500
Delegates

Editions

Jun 2021

Frequency

Newly Listed
Claim event to edit details

Date/Time: Tuesday, June 22, 3 pm US EDT/Noon US PDT/7 pm UTC Presented by: Stuart Fulton of COBI Description: We[. Description: We were all shocked .. Read more in 2020 when Microsoft introduced Productivity Score which collects workplace data on employees. Nobody likes to feel that their telephone or computer is spying on them. Yet we often design technology for fisheries where data collected by a fisher disappears into the cloud, never to be seen by the fisher again. In this webinar we present Innovación Azul, a digital ecosystem that connects 300,000 small-scale fishers in Mexico and mobilizes knowledge, innovation, and solutions that can be adopted in Mexico, Latin America, and beyond. Innovación Azul includes PescaData, a free and interactive mobile application that helps fishers and fishing organizations offer their products and services in the marketplace; share knowledge and seek solutions to common problems; and record catch, fishing effort, expenses, product prices, and more. We will also discuss the principles of data sovereignty in small-scale fisheries; how data could be used for management, research, and value creation; and the benefits – and challenges – of designing technology for small-scale fishers.

Julia Calderwood

Julia Calderwood

Marine Scientist at Marine Institute

Dublin, Ireland
  • Share your Experience
  • Organizer
LogoRequest a Booth

SEVENSEAS Media

USA18 Total Events / 4 Upcoming Events

More Events From The Organizer

You have no contacts. Please add contacts from below or share on social media

Send to all
No Results